As the Summer term begins to end, we prepare for the Autumn term. Below is a list of all the exciting events, festivals and celebrations that the children in the early years shall take part.

EVENT DATE AND TIME PURPOSE
Welcome back assembly Monday 6th September 2021 The Nursery and Reception children shall join Miss B in welcoming everyone back to school. We shall talk about our summer holidays and share our home learning projects with one another.
Onam festival Friday 10th September 2021 The children shall learn all about the festival of Onam, how it’s celebrated and what people in Karela do to mark it’s significance i.e. have a boat race.
Visit to our Spiritual garden at the front of our school Monday 13th September 2021 The Nursery and Reception children shall join Miss B to visit our spiritual garden at the front of our school. Here, the children will learn what a spiritual garden is and how to look after it.
Ganesh Puja Tuesday 14th September 2021 The Nursery and Reception children shall join Miss B in assembly to learn who ‘The elephant God’ is and why he is important during this time of year.
Sukkot Tuesday 21st September 2021 The children shall learn about desserts and how many Jews spent time in the desert long time ago.
Walk around the Local area Friday 24th September 2021 The children shall join Reception in exploring the local area. They shall hunt for bugs, natural materials and patterns.
Black History Month Monday 4th October 2021 The children will be introduced to Martin Luther King and Rosa Parks and learn about their contribution to history.
Navratri

 

Wednesday 6th October 2021

The children shall learn all about the Hindu festival called Navratri. They shall listen to traditional Indian folk music, join in with singing and dancing as well as learn the significance of the 9 days and nights leading up to Diwali.
Durga Puja Monday 11th October 2021 The children shall learn all a Hindu Goddess called Durga, why she is important on this day and her role in the Diwali story.
Trip to Lidl Friday 15th October 2021 The children shall join Reception in walking to Lidl to buy fruits and vegetables to bring back to school. The fruits and vegetables shall be used to create a harvest basket, a basket for Handa and her friend Akeyo and a face inspired by the Artist Archimboldo.
Visit to the Temple Wednesday 3rd November 2021 The children will join Reception to visit the temple to learn more about the festival of Diwali.
Remembrance Day Friday 12th November 2021 The children shall learn all about the significance of the Poppy.
Trip to King Edwards Park Friday 19th November 2021 The children shall join Reception and visit ‘Percy’s Park to find natural materials to bring back to school.
Bodhi Day Monday 22nd November 2021 The children shall be introduced to Bhuddha, who he was and why Bodhi day is celebrated around the world.
Hanukah Monday 29th November 2021 The children shall learn why Hanukah is a significant time for Jewish people all over the world.
Visit to the post office Friday 3rd December 2021 The children shall join Reception to walk to the post office, purchase a stamp to post their letters to Santa.
Visit to St. Augustine’s Church Monday 6th December 2021 The children shall join Reception to walk to the Church to learn all about The Nativity.